Yellow light of death


As most guys I enjoy playing a good video game every now and then.

For this purpose I am (or at least was) a proud owner of my very own Playstation 3 console. I’ve got one of the first series of PS3s released. It’s about 6 years old and for some reason, all in the sudden, it died on me a few days ago.

I was playing a game and for no reason it shut down making the sound *BLEEP BLEEP*.. And that was the end of it. I couldn’t get it to start again. Only a blinking red light and when I tried to reboot a yellow light.

So I started googling for a solution to this problem but after a while it became clear to me that the only way to fix this thing was to send it back to Sony. Price to fix this: about $350, which buys you a new PS3.

That’s what I did.. I got myself a new slimline PS3 (with only 2 usb ports and no PS2 backward compatibilty…WTF?!).

A few days later a friend of mine comes along and he asks me why I got a new PS3.. I tell him the entire story and at the end he goes ‘Hmmmm…’ …flips open his laptop and navigates to this link:

http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Repair/Yellow-Light-of-Death-Repair/3654/1

…Really.. I was ready to rip out my eyes..

If you are a bit handy and have an afternoon off it’s possible to fix this problem yourself. Quite easly I might add…

I gave my friend the PS3 to fix it (I secretly hope it won’t work -_-‘).  Maybe I’ll be the not-so-proud owner of 2 PS3 systems later…

Life can be a b**ch sometimes

2 thoughts on “Yellow light of death

  1. Pingback: PS3 saves « Tech-o-rama

  2. Pingback: Live by the creed « Tech-o-rama

Leave a Reply

